Pink ombré cake

Pink ombré cake

Image

Despite being really busy this week, with lectures starting for real, and lots of work to do, on top of the basic things like shopping (who knew an Asda order could take 3 hours?!) and washing, I have still found time to do plenty of baking this week. I find that baking is such a good way to relax, and even when my workload grows (I haven’t ventured into the library yet…) I’m still going to try and bake as much as possible!

Now, I never need an excuse to bake, but yesterday I had two very good ones; firstly, my flatmate’s birthday, and secondly, a ‘bake and greet’ at baking soc. I made salted caramel and raspberry brownies for baking soc, which disappeared before I could get a picture of them!

For my flatmate’s birthday, however, I decided to try out something I have been wanting to make for ages; an ombré cake. I ordered some pink gel food colouring from Asda and experimented with the amount to use in each cake. It actually turned out really well, considering I only have one bowl, so had to use a jug to make the icing…! This is such a good cake to make for someone’s birthday, as it looks impressive, but is actually very easy to make.

 

 Image

Pink ombré cake

For each batch of 2 cakes:

150g butter

150g caster sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs

150g self-raising flour

Red gel food colouring

 

For the filling:

80g butter

250g icing sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

Splash of milk

 

To ice:

100g butter

300g icing sugar

40g cocoa powder

Splash of milk

 

To decorate:

Chocolate buttons

Candles

2 x 20cm round cake tins, greased and lined with baking paper

Pre-heat the oven to 180C

  1. Make the first batch of cakes – put all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix until you get a batter. Divide into 2 mixtures by weighing 300g of the mix into another bowl.
  2. Add 30 drops of gel food colouring to one of the bowls and 20 to the other
  3. Spread into the tins and bake for 25 minutes, until they are risen and golden.
  4. Next make the other 2 cakes using the same method, but adding 10 drops of food colouring to one bowl, and leaving the other plain.
  5. Whilst the second cakes are cooking, make the filling. Put the butter, icing sugar, vanilla and a drop of milk into a bowl and mix until you get a smooth icing. Add more milk if it’s too stiff.
  6. Let the cakes cool while you make the icing. Put the ingredients into a bowl and beat until you get a smooth icing – you want it to be a bit thinner than the filling, so it’s easy to spread.
  7. When the cakes are cool, put them on a plate or cake-stand, and sandwich together with the vanilla icing.
  8. Gently ice with the chocolate icing by piling it on top of the cake and smoothing down over the sides.
  9. Decorate with chocolate buttons and candles (or if you live in student accommodation, don’t actually light the candles, just use them for decoration…!

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “Pink ombré cake

  1. I’m loving this blog Ellie (although I am useless at baking!); and also intrigued that you have a 12 year old in your student accommodation, if my candle-counting skills are correct. 🙂

Leave a Reply

