Apple and cinnamon crumble

Apple and cinnamon crumble

IMG_0837[1]

So, three weeks into university life and I’m still alive!

I have been into the centre of York a few times now since I’ve been here, and I absolutely love it. It is such a picturesque city, with so many old buildings and cute little shops which I am slowly exploring!

York also has more than its fair share of cute cafés, which I discovered when I went on ‘the great York hot chocolate crawl’ last weekend with York Vision lifestyle (which you can read about here http://www.yorkvision.co.uk/lifestyle/where-to-get-the-best-hot-chocolate-in-york/15/10/2013 ), which inspired me to make my own vegan hot chocolate (http://www.yorkvision.co.uk/lifestyle/bye-bye-cadburys-the-ultimate-homemade-hot-chocolate/16/10/2013 ).

IMG_0818[1]

I love making crumble because it’s so adaptable; you can add so many different flavours and fruits, and it comes out slightly different every time. This is especially good for me at university, as I can use whatever we have in the cupboards, and whatever fruit is in season. We are lucky enough to have a college orchard here, so for this crumble, I picked a couple of apples to use – free food! I also had some porridge oats, so I threw them in too, but brown sugar, ground almonds or some roughly chopped nuts would all work well.

Apple and cinnamon crumble:

2 large Bramley apples

130g plain flour

Sprinkle of cinnamon

75g butter, chopped into cubes

80g caster sugar

50g porridge oats, or whatever you have in the house, e.g. ground almonds

Liberal squeeze of golden syrup

Pre-heat your oven to 180

Medium oven proof dish

  1. Peel, core and chop the apples into large chunks, and cook over a medium heat for 5 minutes until they are softened.
  2. Put the flour, cinnamon, sugar and butter in a bowl and rub together until you get a breadcrumb-like texture.
  3. Add the porridge oats and mix in, then drizzle over some golden syrup and roughly mix it in with a knife.
  4. Spoon the apples into an oven-proof dish and sprinkle the crumble on top.
  5. Bake for about 30 minutes, until the apples are bubbling and the crumble is golden.

IMG_0851[1]

Leave a Reply

