Lemon and white chocolate biscuits

Lemon and white chocolate biscuits

IMG_0501

The return of the Great British Bake Off last Wednesday made me so happy – Bake Off seems to unite the country in a way little else does. My favourite baker so far is definitely Norman – who could forget his hand made skateboard swiss roll plate, or his assertion that his swiss roll was ‘for men’!

This year I am taking part in the Great Bloggers Bake Off (link is at the bottom!), which means I have to bake something along the same theme as the Bake Off contestants every week. This week, however, I’m on holiday in Jersey, so having to bake this week’s theme – biscuits, in our holiday apartment kitchen! It was all going fine, until I realised that not only did I not have scales, but I was also lacking a rolling pin, baking paper, or a baking tray…!

Nevertheless, I have not spent a year baking in a student kitchen without learning anything, so I managed, using a beer bottle as a rolling pin, and roughly guessing the quantities. Despite this, they haven’t turned out badly!

IMG_0488IMG_0497

Lemon and white chocolate biscuits

For the biscuits:

  • 125g softened butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 200g plain flour
  • Zest 1 lemon
  • 100g white chocolate, melted

Heat your oven to 180°C

  1. Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, then add the egg and lemon zest and beat well again.
  2. Stir in the flour until you have a dough, then chill in the fridge for 2 hours.
  3. When chilled, roll out and cut into shapes (I used a knife to cut them into rectangles because our holiday apartment was unfortunately lacking biscuit cutters..!)
  4. Place on a greased baking tray and bake for 9-10 minutes until lightly golden.
  5. When the biscuits are cool, dip half into the white chocolate, then leave to set on a sheet of baking paper.

IMG_0500

This post is entered in week 2 of the Great Bloggers Bake Off, run by the lovely Jenny Paulin over at http://www.thecrazykitchen.co.uk/.

Link to the first week’s round up post: http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk/2014/08/great-bloggers-bake-off-2014-week-1-cakes-round-up.html

14 thoughts on “Lemon and white chocolate biscuits

  1. hi Ellie thank you for managing to bake even when on holiday – I recall using a wine bottle as a student to roll out some dough lol! These look lovely – i need to have some tea because all these biscuits are making me very hungry! I like Norman too but he does need to up his game a little i think , bless him x
    Oh and sorry to point it out, but I blog at http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk xx

  2. They look meltingly good. I’m scared of these types of biscuits, I don’t have a good record of biscuit baking, but I might give them a whirl when there’s no pressure to display my results 🙂

Leave a Reply

