Toffee Apple Puddings

Toffee Apple Puddings

IMG_0657[1]

So there was drama on the Bake Off this week! ‘Bin gate’, and especially the reaction to it on the internet really shocked me. When I first watched it, I thought Diana was completely to blame for Iain’s baked Alaska melting, and I was really sad to see him leave, as it wasn’t his fault! However, some of the comments on Twitter  I saw, and especially the ‘#dirtydiana hashtag were ridiculous. Sometimes I think people need to remember that it’s just a cake competition!

The bakers had to make self-saucing puddings this week, and I knew I had to make these, as they have such a lovely caramel sauce. My self-saucing puddings are made with apples, as apples and blackberries in particular remind me of Autumn. These apples were given to my sister and me when we were picking blackberries. A lovely man saw us and offered us some apples from his garden to go with them! I’ve also used muscavado sugar in the base and sponge, as it gives a lovely toffee flavour! 

IMG_0642[1]

Toffee Apple Puddings

For the base:

  • 50g soft butter
  • 50g light muscavado sugar
  • 1 large eating apple, sliced

For the sponge:

  • 100g soft butter
  • 100g light muscavado sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 100g self raising flour
  • 20g soft dates, chopped

For the sauce:

  • 150ml boiling water
  • 50g light muscavado sugar

4 glass ramekins

Heat your oven to 180°C

  1. For the base, mix the butter and sugar in a bowl, then spread some on the bottom of the ramekins.
  2. Arrange the sliced apple on top, then put the ramekins on a baking tray.
  3. Next make the sponge by beating the butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy. Next add the eggs and dates and beat again.
  4. Sift over the flour and stir until you have a smooth batter.
  5. Spoon the mixture over the apples and smooth, then mix the boiling water and sugar together and pour a little over each ramekin, to just cover the sponge.
  6. Cook in the oven for 20-30 minutes until the sponge is risen and springs back when you touch it.
  7. Enjoy with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream!

IMG_0644[1]

This post is entered in week 4 of the Great Bloggers Bake Off, run by the lovely Jenny Paulin over at http://www.mummymishaps.co.uk/.

9 thoughts on “Toffee Apple Puddings

  1. Oooh this sounds yummy. I was surprised at the whole Twitter thing backlash about Diana – and as it turns out it was probably just edited to make her look like she left it out for ages. I felt sorry for her in the end, and I thought that Iain took his dismissal well. 🙂 x

    1. Thankyou!! Yeah we never see the whole story on the episode because of the way it’s edited, so we can’t really judge! I thought Iain was extremely gracious – going to miss him! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

